When 44 Isn’t Just A Number

10954539_1041307995886247_322738581667684657_n

When I started this blog, I told myself to bring more optimism to the cyberspace. That meant steering away from rants and dysphoric and somber posts. However, the news about the Fallen 44 is not something that I can just shrug off. Exacerbated by today’s gloomy weather, my spirit has been weighed down piece by piece as I continue to scroll and read articles about the incident. Even before this happened, stories about war afflicted me. Every time I hear the war survivors and the families of the bereaved recount their tales, there’s a tremulous motion in my insides that either make my jaw drop or other parts of my body shudder. The violence and suffering are real. I couldn’t even bring myself to finish reading “The Diary of a Young Girl” by Anne Frank because of the way the events slowly throw a cold water on one’s youth. How many lives must be lost from difference of beliefs, clash of interest, and thirst for power? We are in an era in which we are proud of scientific and technological breakthroughs. I hope we can say the same in the pursuit for peace.

Leave a Reply

